Tulip Stuff

Tulip Stuff
dress rehearsal, the morning of the show
Showing posts with label Philly. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Philly. Show all posts

Sunday, September 25, 2011

Monday Evening... & Omega Optical!

Monday evening (9-19-11) I attended a fashion event, which was apart of a series of many events held throughout the city called "The Philadelphia Collection." This event in particular was called "An Evening of Extravagant Shopping, Fashion Exhibits and Award Ceremony." The Philadelphia Collection was started to encourage Philadelphians to boost the city's economy through their retail spending efforts.... Monday's event was held to honor retail businesses that have been up and running in the city for a decade or more and also, to give three up and coming designers exposure.  TULIP was there!!! :) .....



The event was help by celebrity stylist Anthony Henderson and Omega Optical.  Through the duration of the night, I got a chance to meet the staff and the owner of Omega Optical.  Meeting them was such a great experience... they were fun, welcoming and they reminded me of a family.  They even supported and gave me good encouragement with starting/running Tulip!! Aside from the great staff the store also offers a great product!  They offer many different styles of high-end eyewear....and you have a great choice of brands!!! Prada.....Gucci.....and even Ray-Ban...Omega Optical has the works! when it comes to eyewear and service!!! :)

Omega Optical has two locations:
Omega Optical Website


Omega Optical Center City
The Comcast Center 
1701 JFK Boulevard
Philadelphia, PA 19150
215.564.1288


Omega Optical Cheltenham
2385 W. Cheltenham Avenue
Philadelphia 19103
215.885.1200

Me with the Omega Optical Family!


The End!

Saturday, August 13, 2011

Arts Beats & Eats & Style Check!

Heyyy Lovers!!

Soo last week on Sunday, after the Mad Decent Block party, there was another event that I really really wanted to go to, because it seemed like something I thought I would really enjoy!  This event is called Arts Beats and Eats....In short it was Great!! I loved it!!!

The main things I liked about this event was the crowd! everybody seemed really positive and just enjoying their evening.  That is something that can be hard to come by in Philadelphia,, at times...(at least thats what I think).  Also I'd say this event is great for networking.  There were a lot of young people who were really serious and passionate about their business, weather it was owning or starting a business to fundraising. I met fashion bloggers, fashion designers, event planners, artists, students and just people who were having a great time.  There is a time during the night that you can promote your business or an event so if you want to network, this is a Great event!  Another awesome twist to Arts Beats and Eats is, that every month there is a theme, such as a clothing or book drive, but this month I believe the theme was heath and wellness.  To support that theme there was a registered nurse who discussed proper sex life practices, and healthy life practices in general, which is always great to discuss.

Aside from what I really loved there were other good things to take note of.  Food! everyone loves to eat! right? there was a set up of food for everyone to help themselves too, and I don't miss out on food, so I can tell you first hand that the food was pretty good.  Drinks were available from the bar but I don't believe they were free.  There were vendors, mostly selling jewelry and clothing, which were really cute.  there was an artist/painter who was really good! and I can't recall his name (I'm terrible with names!!) but his website is Artlyfestile....  There was also a young lady named Rafiya who sang and she was terrific (fb: rafiyamusic)!  The only thing that I didn't like was that it was hard to get a seat..(eventually I found a seat :)). besides that everything was great! I would recommend this event to anyone! especially if your positive, artistic, young, fashionable, business minded, and so on and so on and so on :)

Arts Beats & Eats is held every 1st Sunday at from 7-11pm at the Primo Bacio restaurant in the Wyncote Towers 8460 Limekiln Pike (behind Cedar-Brook Mall lols).  If you RSVP online its $10 plus tax, and $15 if you pay at the door.
Check it out for September 4th and for every 1st Sunday here -->  Arts Beats and Eats

Style Check!





I thought this guy was pretty sharp!


Loooved! his sweater!

I loove the feminine look!



The End! smooches ppl.

Monday, August 8, 2011

The Mad Decent Block Party! & Style Check!

Yesterday, August 7th 2011, I attended the Mad Decent Block Party, Philly edition!! It was took place in the Northern Liberties section of the city at the Piazza (N 2nd & Germantown Ave).

 I had an absolute BLAST!!!! This event totally lives up to its name and more!  There were many acts, one after another, without any breaks keeping the crowd hype.  DJ Sega and Major Lazer were the lead acts to rap up the event however all other performances were great!!  Everyone danced and sang along together, the energy was high and the crowd was positive!  Next year Mad Decent Block Party will definitely be the move for me!!!!







Mad Decent is a free event for all ages.  The event will also take place in Chicago, August 13th and in LA August 20th.  If your in NYC and you missed it.. I'm Sorry it took place July 30.  For more information go to Mad Decent Block Party 2011 .

!Style Check!






The End.

Sunday, July 31, 2011

Style Check

Soo I'm in grad school,,, and I get ridiculous! amounts of homework!!! However, this weekend I was happy to only have one project that would not take up alllllll of my time.  So I decided to use my Saturday to do one of the things I love,,, and that is going around Philly looking for people who I think are fashionably interesting... in one way or another.  I started my journey in Old City, then Rittenhouse Square, Walnut street, where somehow I found myself in club Adesso and finally I ended my journey comfortably at the Continental on 18th and Chestnut.... here goes....










You may wonder (or not lol) how I choose who to capture... I look for people who not only look presentable, but who also "thought" about what they put on, who look appropriate and are not trying too hard! and yadda yadda yada!! lols hope u like :)

THE END

Tuesday, July 5, 2011

4th of July!!!!!!! Style Check!

Hey Lovers!! Hope you had a great holiday weekend!

To celebrate, I went down to the Parkway in Philly.  Every year for Independence Day the Benjamin Franklin Parkway features food, vendors, a parade, an array of musical performances and of course FIREWORKS!

This year I must say that the show was pretty bumpin!!!
Performers:
The Roots!
Earth, Wind and Fire
Michael McDonald
Estelle
Sara Bareilles
DJ Jazzy Jeff
The crowd was also pleasantly surprised by a few other groups such as a Philly favorite, the O'jays, and Philly's own Boys II Men!!!  I'd say the show was Great!!! it was hard to not dance! and young and old alike were singing along to all the songs!

While down there I wanted to check out the new styles in Philly.  Although I believe Philadelphia is a place where people like fashion, and are fashionable I wouldn't say that they are the most creative or individual with there clothing choices, soooooo I tried my best to find folks who stood out from the crowd.

 I thought this guy look great!! Def dressed for the occasion lol... I loove how he did it tho... its hard to look patriotic and fashionable at the same time..but overall I think he looks so cute,, love the glasses (whimsy) and those muscles don't hurt either!!! lols






 I guess the idea of the fannie pack coming back!!! I mean they are just soo functional!!!! Why not also make it fashionable!!!
 This is what I wore...My top is like a crop top,,, its vintage, my shorts are from forever21 and my shoes are like leather Jesus shoes from Macys... they are by dolce vita


^^My Jewelry^^ 
THE END.